The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

The UF College of Medicine selects one graduating medical student and one faculty member for the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.  To select the student winner, the entire graduating class is polled to determine the recipient of the medical student award.  The faculty awardee is selected during the faculty and resident selection process, with all present at the meeting selecting the faculty awardee from among the four new faculty inductees.

Year Student   Awardees Faculty   Awardees
Class   of 2006 Jennifer   Rehm, M.D. Richard   C. Christensen, M.D., Professor of Psychiatry
Class   of 2007 Juliessa   Pavon, M.D. I.   Keith Stone, M.D., Professor Obstetrics and Gynecology
Class   of 2008 Kurt   Scherer, M.D. Allen   Neims, M.D., Professor of Pharmacology & Therapeutics
Class   of 2009 Kavita   Rajasekhar, M.D. Maureen   A. Novak, M.D., Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Class   of 2010 Ana   Turner, M.D. Patricia   Abbitt M.D., Professor and Chief – Department of Radiology
Class   of 2011 Paul   O’Rourke, M.D. David   Feller, M.D., Associate Professor of Community Health and Family Medicine
Class   of 2012 Ricardy   Rimpel, MD Philip   Barkley, M.D., Associate Professor of Community Health and Family Medicine
Class   of 2013 Vikram  Narayan, MD Beverly   Vidaurreta, PhD, Assistant Professor, Program Director, Student   Counseling and Development,
Class   of 2014 Samuel   Dickmann Donna   Parker, MD, Associate Dean for Diversity   and Health Equity
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pediatrics